Sword Art Online Light Novels, How Many Are There?

Sword Art Online light novels are written by Reki Kawahara and illustrated by abec. At first SAO was released as the web novel and then began publication on ASCII Media Works’ Dengeki Bunko imprint from April 10, 2009. The light novels themselves are divided into three publications: Main series, Progressive, and Gun Gale Online.

The main series was written by Reki Kawahara and illustrated by abec, and the Progressive acts as spin-off novel series. While the Gun Gale Online is spin-off novel written by Sigsawa Keiichi, illustrated by Kuroboshi Kouhaku and supervised by Kawahara Reki.

Sword Art Online Main Light Novel Series

These series centers around Kirito and his friends in Virtual Reality game. They move in one to another game depending on situation and mission. Just like when 10,000 players were trapped in Sword Art Online deathly game, when Kirito tried to save Asuna in Alfheim Online game, and also investigated serial killer in Gun Gale Online. All of these stories are consisted on main light novel series. These light novels have been adapted into Sword Art Online anime series and premiered in Summer 2012.

Sword Art Online Volume 1 – Aincrad
Price: $ 8.68
Buy Now

Sword Art Online Light Novels

A solo player named Kirito, who got the luck to once play the beta version of the first VRMMORPG Sword Art Online (SAO) is one of the 10,000 players who are trapped inside of the game during the first day of its official service. They only path to allow them to escape if by conquering all the floors of Aincrad, the floating castle that is the setting for the overall game, and defeating the final boss in 100th floor. Death in-game means loss of life in the real world, because of the NerveGear, a console that simulates the in-game avatar controls by redirecting brain signals. Two years after the start of the deathly game, out of the original 10,000 players in the beginning, less than seven thousand remain with twenty-five floors still left to clear.

Sword Art Online Volume 2 – Aincrad
Price: $ 9.99
Buy Now

This volume includes four short tales that occurred before and during the events of light novel volume 1.

Sword Art Online Volume 3 – Fairy Dance
Price: $ 11.29
Buy Now

Kirito comes back from Sword Art Online and then discover that Asuna, and along with 300 other people, is still asleep and has been seen in a new game, Alfheim Online.

Sword Art Online Volume 4 – Fairy Dance
Price: $ 10.79
Buy Now

After thwarting the would-be ambush, Kirito and Leafa set out for Alne, into the World Tree, and then be sidetracked by a meeting and end up in the underworld, Jotunheimr. With some help from an unlikely ally, the reached the town only to find that the way to the World Tree is locked.

Sword Art Online Volume 5 – Phantom Bullet
Price: $ 10.05
Buy Now

A year had passed since Sword Art Online incident. Kirito is asked by Kikuoka Seijirou to investigate a game called Gun Gale Online, specifically a mysterious player who called himself “Death Gun” and possess a gun which appeared to link deaths in the virtual reality world to the people in the real world. Upon entering the game, Kirito met Sinon who tells him the ropes around the game. They both joined the Gun Gale Online competition called Bullet of Bullets (BoB). Kirito shows his amazing skills although he is only a noob to the game. As the story continued, Kirito discovers that the mysterious deaths are associated with a red guild, Laughing Coffin, in Sword Art Online game in the past.

The Sword Art Online light novel volume 5 has been adapted into anime in Sword Art Online II, a second season of SAO anime series.

Sword Art Online Volume 6 – Phantom Bullet
Price: $ 9.92
Buy Now

Kirito moves into the finals of the Bullet of Bullets (BoB) competition to get the fact about the mysterious Death Gun. Helped by the sniper Sinon, he fights for his life and others to halt a mysterious killer in-game.

Sword Art Online Volume 7 – Mother’s Rosario
Price: $ 9.62
Buy Now

When a mysterious swords man called Zekken or Absolute Sword shows up offering an unusual eleven-hit combo Original Sword Skill (OSS) to whoever can defeat them, ASuna takes up the challenge, and that discover that Zekken is a girl and needs her assist in more ways than both of them know.

Sword Art Online Volume 8 – Early And Late
Price: $ 11.90
Buy Now

Sword Art Online Light Novel volume 08 is a collection of three side stories including:

  • A Murder Case in the Area (Aincrad 57th floor, April 2024)
  • Calibur (Alfheim, December 2025)
  • First Day (Aincrad, 1st Floor, November 2022)

Sword Art Online 9 – Alicization Beginning
Price: $ 13.53
Buy Now

Kirito was tossed into Underworld through FullDiving at first, and he and his friends Eugeo and Alice continued an adventure that goes awry. In Underworld, six years later, Kirito reappeard and this time, Kirito, Eugeo, and Alice’s sister Selka continued a quest to bring Alice back to her hometown.

Here are the list of Sword Art Online light novel series “Alicization”:

Sword Art Online Volume 10 – Alicization Running
Sword Art Online Volume 11 – Alicization Turning
Sword Art Online Volume 11 – Alicization Turning
Sword Art Online Volume 12 – Alicization Rising
Sword Art Online Volume 13 – Alicization Dividing
Sword Art Online Volume 14 – Alicization Uniting
Sword Art Online Volume 15 – Alicization Invading
Sword Art Online Volume 16 – Alicization Exploding
Sword Art Online Volume 17 – Alicization Awakening
Sword Art Online Volume 18 – Alicization Lasting

Sword Art Online Light Novel – Progressive Series

Sword Art Online Progressive Light Novel
$ 10.82

The first volume of Sword Art Online basically skips the whole game, completely to the end. You only find out about the combat system, and much else hardly, and only 2 floors are actually given any details. 74th and 75th. 1st floor showed up in the beginning of the volume, but not much was said.

Afterwards, the story just hops to other games, and because Sword Art Online was cleared, it is normally never revisited outside a few random side-stories that popped up in the next book, and 8th book. But these details doesn’t offer much. Even side-material only talks about the most relevant elements of the story, as pertaining to Kirito and friends.

Sword Art Online Progressive light novel can be an attempt to retell the complete story from the start. So far, this series has 4 volumes.

»Sword Art Online Progressive 1 – light novel«
»Sword Art Online Progressive 2 – light novel«
»Sword Art Online Progressive 3 – light novel«
»Sword Art Online Progressive 4 – light novel«

Sword Art Online Light Novel – Gun Gale Online Series

Sword Art Online Light Novel Gun Gale Online
$ 5.35

The series is a spin-off, written by Sigsawa Keiichi, illustrated by Kuroboshi Kouhaku and supervised by Kawahara Reki. The Gun Gale Online light novel series will introduce an entirely new cast, with only some characters from the main series appear here.

The list of this series so far:

»Sword Art Online Alternative Gun Gale Online I – Squad Jam«
»Sword Art Online Alternative Gun Gale Online II – 2nd Squad Jam (I)«
»Sword Art Online Alternative Gun Gale Online III – 2nd Squad Jam (II)«
»Sword Art Online Alternative Gun Gale Online IV – 3rd Squad Jam Betrayer’s Choice (I)«
»Sword Art Online Alternative Gun Gale Online V – 3rd Squad Jam Betrayer’s Choice (II)«


Please rate this

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us
Privacy Policy
Terms of Service