My Hero Academia Review (Boku no Hero Academia)

My Hero Academia AnimeMy Hero Academia is an anime resembles an American cartoon. If you know about Marvel or superheroes-themed cartoon, you may like this one too. This anime is about the superheroes with the superpower, filled with action, and being a shounen anime series in Japan. You can also see that the main character is carrying a dream have to be realized, so the story itself is pretty straightforward and you have something to be expected throughout the series.

My very first impression about this anime is American superhero. Both the characters and storyline, it reminds me of my favorite superhero figure likes Captain America or Batman. While the plot to be a standard superhero series, “heroes try to save earth from the evil tyrants.” But plus, you will see a good background and drama that usually not appeared in the American cartoon.

This My Hero Academia review includes:

  • Overview
  • Parent Guide and Age Rating
  • Anime Review

My Hero Academia is good anime. You will find lots of action, drama, comedy, and good morals throughout the series. I think this anime will fit for someone who really loves shounen, but not for seinen, slice-of-life, or romance.

Overview

My Hero Academia Manga
Cover of the first volume of My Hero Academia

My Hero Academia, or also known as Boku no Hero Academia in Japan is the Japanese superhero action anime TV series produced by Bones studio and directed by Kenji Nagasaki. The anime was broadcast on JNN starting from April 3 to June 26, 2016. While the second season was aired on NNS since April 1, 2017.

The anime adaptation is based on the Japanese superhero manga series written and illustrated by Kouhei Horikoshi. It has been serialized in Weekly Shounen Jump since July 7, 2014 and there are 15 tankoubon volumes so far published by Shueisha.

A spin-off manga series titled “My Hero Academia Smash!!” written by the original author and illustrated by Hirofumi Neda began its serialization in Shounen Jump + since November 9, 2015 and has been collected into 2 tankoubon volume. While one other spin-off series titled “Vigilante: My Hero Academia Illegals” written by Hiyuki Furuhashi and illustrated by Betten Court has been serialized in Shounen Jump GIGA and Shounen Jump + since September 2016. Both spin-off manga series was licensed by Viz Media in North America.

The video game based on the anime adaptation titled “My Hero Academia: Battle for All” was developed by Dimps and published by Bandai Namco Entertainment which released in Japan on May 19, 2016 and it’s available for Nintendo 3DS console.

Madman Entertainment, Funimation, and Universal Pictures UK licensed the anime series in Australia, North America, and the United Kingdom respectively. The season 1 of the anime series on Blu-ray has also been available for purchase on April 18, 2017.

Parent Guide and Age Rating

My Hero Academia Parent Guide and Age RatingMy Hero Academia’s contents consists of:

  • Superpower: 77%
  • Action: 69%
  • Drama: 54%
  • Comedy: 46%
  • Violence: 15%
  • Slice of Life: 8%

The anime is based on the superhero manga series which include unique superpower abilities. Every character has their own abilities, so this part could be a charming to any anime and super-hero cartoon lovers. The plot itself is focused on how the main character tries to become stronger and gain his powers.

Since this show is a kind of ‘hero beat the evil tyrant’, there’s, of course, some action scenes on it. You will see several fight scenes in almost all episode, however, there are also several episodes without this element, that’s why the action is only 69%. If you wonder, why the action doesn’t have the same content with the superpower, it’s because there are several scenes that the characters only show-off their own superpower abilities, or to learn how to control their power.

My Hero Academia also includes the drama aspect. Mainly the process when the main character tries to become stronger. There’s also flashback telling us about main character’s background. However, the problem is sometimes the anime showing us the same flashback over and over, which could be a boring time for you.

The comedy aspect is good, but not too much. The comedy is affected by main character’s timid personality. Sometimes it’s become annoying and turns out to be too cliche. However, in several scenes, you can also find comedy based on other characters, just like All Might and Deku’s classmates.

Please note that you will find violence on it. There’s a difference between action and violence. My Hero Academia has bloody scenes, that’s very inappropriate to be shown to children. If your children really love this show, make sure you skip several scenes in episode 11 and 12. I won’t give you any detail because I don’t want to spoil anything.

Besides the drama and action, My Hero Academia also includes slice-of-life aspects. Most of the characters spend their time in Hero Academy, so you will also find several normal activities just like an ordinary high school.

Since this show includes several bloody scenes, then My Hero Academia is safe for 13-teens or older. It’s not recommended for your children or younger audiences below 13-years-old.

Anime Review

Trailer

Synopsis

One day in this world, newborn babies started getting some random superpowers out of sudden which are identified as ‘quirks’. With that, nasty villains showed up, and that heroes appeared too, which soon grew to be normal and was accepted by the modern culture.

Midoriya Izuku who’s constantly bullied by his childhood friend, Bakugou Katsuki who has an awesome quirk, wished to enroll in the exclusive ‘Hero School’ and turns into the best hero on the earth like his idol, ‘All Might’. But he learned in his childhood that he doesn’t have any of quirk or abilities, but finding the potential in him thanks to several circumstances, All Might passes on his quirk to him that’s considerably like ultimate power, speed, and endurance. However, because of his fragile body and lack of practice, he constantly wounds his body with the recoil.

Anyway, he is able to clear the Hero Academy entrance exam and now he ought to struggle in the school to pass out as a professional hero who fights for justice.

My Hero Academia Blu-rayMy Hero Academia Season One
(Blu-ray/DVD Combo)
Released on April 18, 2017
$42.99
BUY NOW

The link above directs to a retail affiliate. AnimeBibly.com may receive a commission from your purchase without adding you any extra cost.

Plot

Just like its genre, the story and plot are shounen-type, where the main character who can’t-do a single thing because he doesn’t have any abilities, found a little hope to become what he wants to be, a Hero. The concept is a typical American hero cartoon, where the heroes fight for justice should face and beat the evil-tyrant. However, My Hero Academia is still holding the anime culture, where the main character should go through the process to become stronger.

As we knew that, in several American cartoons, there’s always a hero or main character who gain his or her inner power when they are in a pinch, just like trying to save their friends or families. In this anime, it never happened. In a first few episode (Don’t worry, I won’t give you any spoilers), there’s a scene where the main character has to save his friend and jump out of sudden despite he must face the stronger villain.

In this point, I almost dropped this anime “if” the main character gains his inner power so suddenly, where he originally doesn’t have any of them. But, the story doesn’t move that way, so I decided to finish this story until the end. Well, it’s really satisfying though.

The only problem is maybe, the flashback. The anime shows us the same character’s background over and over. I have to admit it that, it’s really boring the see the same story in every single episode. It’s worst than Naruto filler, honestly.

Artwork

The art style is really generic, and it seems like a superhero comic books. The character designs aren’t cute like GochiUsa or cool like Death Note, and I don’t even find an interesting part of it. It’s really plain and simple. While the animation is decent, especially when it comes to fight or battle scenes.

Gif by: AllYourAnime.net

Characters

The main character, Midoriya Izuku, I have seen these kinds of annoying and cry-baby characters in almost every shounen anime, and of course, the creators will have a huge chance to develop this type of character. However, once it fails, it will ruin the show for sure. But luckily, it didn’t happen to Boku no Hero Academia. This show has slightly good character development because of main character’s trait. There are several other characters who also gained their own development, but not much.

I think it’s because the first season is too short, and it’s hard to cover lots of characters in a single 13 episodes. I wish there are more and more characters development when the second season’s Blu-ray was released, so I won’t spend my money on something bad. lol. (Despite the second season was airing on TV, I didn’t watch it. I just simply waiting for the Blu-ray).

Sound

I have to say that the OP is great for the show, it’s really fit. But unluckily, it’s not for me. I can’t or don’t know how to enjoy the song when I was watching this anime. But once again, I didn’t say that the opening theme is bad. It’s different with the ending theme, it’s so great to hear and I can feel the spirit and shounen atmosphere on it. While the anime is filled with popular and professional Seiyuu, so there’s no doubt that the Japanese dub is really great. However, I didn’t fully remember the background sound. Simply put, the background sounds are not so memorable for me.

Overall (70/100)

While I enjoy the story and concept, I don’t like the flashback scenes on it. But if you are a teen or someone who loves shounen anime, it will definitely fit for you. I found several problems in artwork and characters, so it still struggles to reach the top anime, at least in my opinion. So, I think 70 it’s enough.

Please rate this

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us
Disclaimer
DMCA
Privacy Policy
Terms of Service