Hyperdimension Neptunia Anime Review (Choujigen Game Neptune)

Hyperdimension Neptunia Anime ReviewHyperdimension Neptunia is one of the weird sci-fi anime series that I’ve ever watched. This anime is based on the game, while I never played the game, so this review will only focus on the anime series instead, according to my personal viewpoint. Maybe we can ask NihonRush-san from AnimeBibly‘s gaming division to review the game later on.

The anime just like an idol-ish genre which can be loved by many otakus or hardcore anime fans, especially someone who really love the cute characters and think them as their waifus. The characters themselves can transform into the stronger mode. As you can imagine, there’s a special scene that shows each character transform from a flat-chested girl into a female with huge twin-mountains.

This Hyperdimension Neptunia anime review will include:

  • What is Hyperdimension Neptunia Anime?
  • Hyperdimension Neptunia content review
  • Hyperdimension Neptunia anime review

As I said before, Hyperdimension Neptunia has its own fans. There are lots of otaku and hardcore anime fans who really love this anime. But for someone who watches the show for plot and story, maybe you will slightly be disappointed. Since this anime has almost no strong plot. But for someone who loves cute character designs or hunting new waifu, you can check this one out!

Hyperdimension Neptunia The Animation


Hyperdimension Neptunia Game Cover
European Cover Art

Hyperdimension Neptunia, or also known as Choujigen Game Neptune in Japan is the Japanese action and sci-fi anime TV series produced by David Production studio and directed by Masahiro Mukai. The anime was aired on Tokyo MX starting from July 12 to September 27, 2013.

The anime series itself is based on the role-playing game series created and developed by Idea Factory of the same name. Compile Heart and Idea Factory International act as publisher in Japan and North America respectively. The game was released on August 19, 2010, and now available for several platforms including Playstation 3, Playstation 4, Playstation Vita, and Microsoft Windows.

The manga adaptation was serialized in the Famitsu Comic Clear magazine since November 2010. One other manga series titled Hyperdimension Neptunia: The Animation – Hello New World written by Mikage Baku began serialization in June 2013 within Dengeki Maoh magazine.

There are also 2 novel series published in Japan. The first one titled Hyperdimension Neptunia: High School written by Okazu and illustrated by Tsunako which began serialization since February 2, 2012, in Sakura no Mori Bunko imprint. The other one titled Hyperdimension Neptunia TGS Hono no Futsukakan written by Rentarow Yayoi was published on May 25, 2013, in MF Bunko J imprint.

Madman Entertainment and Funimation licensed the anime series in Australia and North America respectively and released it on Blu-ray. The latest Blu-ray was released on April 4, 2017.

Hyperdimension Neptunia Content Review


Hyperdimension Neptunia Content ReviewHyperdimension Neptunia consists of:

  • Fantasy: 100%
  • Action: 83,3%
  • Supernatural: 83,3%
  • Sci-Fi: 50%
  • Drama: 50%
  • Slice of Life: 41,6%
  • Mild Ecchi: 33,3%

Since the anime sets in a fantasy world, so there’s 100% all of the events took place in that world. But it’s different with Re:Zero or another fantasy anime series, Hyperdimension Neptunia world looks like in our far-future world where you can see some futuristic building and environment.

The anime is also filled with action where the characters using their supernatural power let them transform into a stronger mode or battle mode. Every time they fight with each other or with the monster, they will surely transform. So, the action and supernatural content have the same percentage. While the sci-fi itself is little confusing. Sometimes the rule isn’t always consistent which constantly makes me more and more confused.

While the drama is also not really good. Mostly the characters will argue because of something minor but they tend to make it likes a huge problem. They will cry but it really can’t move my tear, even at some point I couldn’t understand “what’s going on here?”

The anime also includes the slice-of-life element. The main and additional characters will spend their time outside like in amusement park and the beach – I think some anime will always put some bikini episode into it, and Hyperdimension Neptunia is not an exception. The slice-of-life element usually will trigger some main events.

please note that there’s a mild ecchi content here. You will constantly see half-naked characters and some fan-service scenes. For instance, there’s a scene where the girls are tied up which put them into erotic position while yelling “kyaaaaa” or “iiyyaaaaa”, and others.

Based on the percentage and our review, this Hyperdimension Neptunia anime is slightly safe and could be watched by teens – 13-year-old or older.

Hyperdimension Neptunia Anime Review


Hyperdimension Neptunia
The Complete Series S.A.V.E.
Released on April 4, 2017
$22.99
BUY NOW

Synopsis

Welcome to Gamindustri, a fantastical world where all your beloved video game consoles come to life! Neptune and her fellow Goddesses rule the four kingdoms of Lastation, Leanbox, Lowee, and Planeptune – but their royal duties often take a backseat to their obsession with gaming. When their button-mashing shenanigans are interrupted by rampaging monsters, hacker attacks, and killer eggplants, the goddesses must transform into stronger, sexier versions of themselves and fight for their right to game! The bosses get tougher as the game goes on, and the girls will have to work together in order to defeat a bewitching goddess of piracy, an anonymous master hacker, and an evil CPU hell-bent on destroying everything in her path – using any cheat code necessary!

Story

Let me say it as clearly as possible! I forced myself and suffered when watched this anime. Please don’t be offended but honestly, I really don’t know how to enjoy the story and plot. Several anime sites count it as comedy and action, but the joke itself couldn’t make me laugh, not even a smile – or maybe the joke “too funny, I forgot to laugh”.

While the action doesn’t have the unique or original reasons. I mean, you can find an antagonist appears and want to rule the world. The girls try to stop her for justice. Another antagonist appears and wants to destroy the world, and the girls try to stop her for justice again. It’s too cliche and why the antagonist really wants to destroy the world in the first place? They didn’t give any proper reason, too.

So, the plot and story are really weak. Sometimes I’m wondering where the plot will be heading to. And when they are faced with battle, it’s really easy to guess who will win. Although I feel that the antagonist is stronger than them, the protagonist always wins. The reason is simple because usually the battle always took “1 vs lots of girls”. Sorry, this is not a spoiler, because everyone will know what will happen next in that scenes, right?

Artwork

I think this is the strongest point of this anime. Like what I mentioned above, the characters designs are cute, and maybe you will make one of them as your favorite characters or even waifu. While the backgrounds are pretty generic, the fight animations are decent and most of them are drawn by hand, not 3DCG. However, I couldn’t find any of male characters throughout the series. Once I found one, it’s a mouse. What???

image by: Tsuguii-blog

Characters

Despite the plot is weak, but the characters got good development. Maybe it’s influenced by the drama aspects. Yes, the drama isn’t as good as Sword Art Online or as tearjerker as Your Lie in April, but it could develop the characters well, despite the drama involving the minor things. How interesting.

Sound

The sound is decent. I can hear the background sound constantly put me in the mood. However, it still couldn’t make me understand how to enjoy the plot and the drama. While the opening theme and ending theme are really fit with the series. They sound like an idol-ish song. I personally love the opening song, Dimension Tripper by Nao.

Overall (65/100)

Despite the plot and story make me suffer, but I still really appreciate the character designs, sounds, and character development. I think this anime is not meant for someone who really loves strong plot, drama, or action, but this anime is for someone who loves cute female characters along with their unique traits.

Please rate this

Contact Us
Disclaimer
DMCA
Privacy Policy
Terms of Service